Meet Our Staff

P. Joel Snider

Pastor
E-mail: jsnider@fbcrome.org
Joel Snider has been pastor of First Baptist since 1995. He and his wife, Cherry, have two grown daughters and one granddaughter. His hobbies include reading, hiking, and cycling.


Keith A. Reaves

Senior Associate/Minister of Worship
E-mail: kreaves@fbcrome.org

Keith has served as Senior Associate/Minister of Worship at First Baptist since 1999. He also is responsible for the Senior Adult ministry at First Baptist. He is a native of Arkansas and he and his wife, Hilary, both graduates of the University of Arkansas, have two adult children, Graham and Ellen.


Sherri Dickens

Minister of Faith Development
E-mail: sdickens@fbcrome.org


Tamara Tillman Smathers

Minister of Education/Administration
E-mail: ttsmathers@fbcrome.org

As Minister of Education and Administration Tamara strives to keep things safe—to help the church become a safe place for persons to explore the deepest questions of faith through Bible study, prayer, and conversations with others. She also works to assure that the our buildings are kept safe and prepared for anyone who comes our way. Tamara is a Rome native, having recently returned to her home church after years of serving churches in Alabama and ministry in international settings. She is married to Jeff Smathers and has one step-son, Andrew.


John H. Uldrick

Minister of Students and Missions
E-mail: juldrick@fbcrome.org

John has been on staff at FBC since 2007.  A native of Clinton, South Carolina, John enjoys college football, playing golf, and riding bikes with his children. He has been married to his wife Jennifer since 1997 and they have two children: Charlie, born in 2000, and Annalise, born in 2002. He really enjoys his work with middle school, high school, and college students and sometimes can't believe he gets paid for this!

Gwen Stephens

Ministry Assistant
E-mail: ghstephens@fbcrome.org

Linda Beard

Financial Secretary
E-mail: lbeard@fbcrome.org

Karen R. Garrett

Secretary to Senior Associate/
Minister of Worship and Students and Missions

E-mail: kgarrett@fbcrome.org

Debbye Akins

Secretary to Minister of Education/
Administration and Faith Development

E-mail: dakins@fbcrome.org

Mike Holloway

Head Custodian

Jan Dandridge

Custodian

Willie Whatley

Custodian

Greg Paulson

Chef
E-mail: chefgregcookin4u@comcast.net

Melissa Wood

Weekday Preschool Director
E-mail: mwood@fbcrome.org
Melissa is a native of Rome and has been a part of our Weekday Early Education program staff for more than nine years.

Beverly Harris

Pianist
E-mail: bevharris@comcast.net

Joan Hill

Organist
E-mail: joanclaudiahill@gmail.com


Betsy Qualls

Youth Ministry Intern
E-mail: betsy.qualls@vikings.berry.edu

Blake Huether

Youth Ministry Intern
E-mail: jbhuether@gmail.com

Anna Kate Wilson

Youth Ministry Intern
E-mail: annakate.wilson@vikings.berry.edu